Navigate Up


Constituency: Rushen

Privacy Policy

Member Interests

Contact DetailsJuan P Watterson MHK

Address: Legislative Buildings, Finch Road, Douglas, IM1 3PW

Tel: 01624 685507


Address as: Mr Speaker

Full title: The Hon Juan Watterson SHK


Born: 1980

Education: Rushen Infants School, Rushen Junior School, Castle Rushen High School; University of Lincolnshire and Humberside: BA (Hons) Management with first class honours (2001); Qualified Chartered Accountant (ICAEW) (2005), Fellow of the ICAEW (2015)​, Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute (2016); Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Manufacturing (2020).

Family: Married to Helena 2010, 1 daughter and 1 son.

Career: 2001-06 KPMG, Audit Senior.

Public Service: Police Consultative Forum 2003-06; Trustee – Manx Radio Purpose Trust 2005-06; Chairman - Junior Chamber of Commerce 2005-06; Institute of Chartered Accountants, Governing Council and various Committee roles 2004-date.

Publications: “Onshore or Offshore, The Manager’s Dilemma” 2001; “In contrast to modern approaches to organisational theory, postmodernism is of little use to the practising manager”, Journal of Critical Postmodern Organisational Science 2001; Youth Task Force Report 2008; The Economic Impact on Immigration 2008; Budget article for The Parliamentarian 2010; Personal Allowance Credit Report 2010; Tynwald Balls 2010; Tynwald Balls 2 2015.

Interests: Walking, Local History, Director of Southern Befrienders 2008-date, Royal British Legion, Port Erin Branch: Vice Chairman and Isle of Man Treasurer.

Parliamentary Profile

Current Posts

Member of the House of Keys 2006-date.
Speaker of the House of Keys 2016-date.
Deputy President of Tynwald 2016-date.
Chairman of the Tynwald Standards and Members' Interests Committee (eo) 2016-date.
Chairman of the Tynwald Management Committee (eo) 2016-date.
Chairman of the Standing Orders Committee of Tynwald (eo) 2016-date.
Chairman of the Emoluments Committee (eo) 2016-date.
Chairman of the House of Keys Management and Members' Standards Committee (eo) 2016-date.
Chairman of the Standing Orders Committee of the House of Keys (eo) 2016-date.
Member of the Tynwald Ceremony Arrangements Committee (eo) 2016-date.
Member of the CPA Isle of Man Branch Executive Committee 2011-date. Joint Branch President (eo) 2016-date.
Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee 2016-date.
Armed Forces Champion 2012-date (incl. Tynwald Representative on North West Reserve Forces and Cadets Association).
Vice Chair of the Isle of Man Government Preservation of War Memorials Committee 2021-date.
Member of the Select Committee on Poverty 2021-date.​

Parliamentary Career

Minister: Home Affairs 2011-16.
Member: Health and Social Security (special responsibility for Social Security & Chairman, Audit Committee) 2006-09, Local Government and the Environment (special responsibility for Housing and Estates 2006-09 and for Planning and Building Control 2009-10) 2006-10, Whitley Council 2007-09 Economic Development (with responsibility for Financial Services and Companies Registry) 2010-11.
Chairman: Planning Committee 2009-10; War Memorials Preservation 2011-16; Communications Commission 2011-16.
Committees of Tynwald: Select Committee on Immigration 2007-09, Select Committee on the Committee System 2010-11; Member of the Select Committee of Tynwald on the Funding of Nursing and Residential Care 2015-2016; Chairman: Select Committee on Kaupthing Singer and Friedlander 2009-11, Public Accounts 2007-11, Select Committee on Advertising in the Countryside 2009-10, Economic Initiatives 2007-11, Select Committee to Review the Committee System 2015, Standing Orders Committee of the House of Keys 2015-2016, Honours 2016-18, Select Committee of Tynwald on the Functioning of Tynwald 2017-18; Member of the Select Committee of Tynwald on Public Service Broadcasting 2018-2019; Chairman of the Select Committee on Poverty 2018-2021.
Council of Ministers’ Committees: Overseas Aid 2007-10, Retail Policy Working Group 2009 -10, PIF Economic Sub-Committee 2009-10, Social Policy Committee Chairman 2014-16.

Electoral History

First stood and elected as Member of the House of Keys for Rushen in 2006 (polling 2430, 1st), re-elected in 2011 (polling 3080, 1st), re-elected in 2016 (polling 2087, 1st), re-elected in 2021 (polling 2384, 1st).

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Chairman: Isle of Man Branch Executive Committee 2011-date.
Study Visits: Westminster 2007, Westminster 2007, Edinburgh 2007.
Regional Conferences: Gibraltar 2008, Guernsey 2009, Falkland Islands 2013, Cyprus 2015.
Plenary Conference: Nairobi 2010, Cameroon 2014, Bangladesh 2017, Uganda 2019.
Conference of Commonwealth Speakers and Presiding Officers: Seychelles 2018; Canada 2020.
Guest Speaker: 43rd CPA Regional Conference of the CAA Region 2018; Standing Orders Workshop, The Gambia 2019.
Regional Representative (British Islands and Mediterranean Region) Small Branches Network 2020-date.
Treasurer: Commonwealth Association of Public Accounts Committees 2021-date.