Constitutional and Legal Affairs and Justice Committee


Mis​s T August-Hanson MLC

Committee Chair

Mr S G ​Peters ​​MHK

Committee Member

Mr D J Ashford MBE MHK

Committee Member



News: 21 June 2022 - Mr David Ashford MBE MHK has been elected a Member of the Constitutional and Legal Affairs and Justice Committee.​

1 - 10Next

Contact the Committee

For enquiries or to submit written evidence please contact:

Dr Jonathan King 
Clerk to the Committee
Legislative Buildings
Finch Road
Isle of Man
Tel: 01624 685500

The Committee reserves the right to publish any evidence sent to it in the absence of any agreement that the evidence will be confidential.

Committee Remit

There shall be a Committee on Justice, Constitutional and Legal Affairs which shall be a Standing Committees of the Court. It shall be entitled to take evidence from witnesses and to report on matters as they affect the Island relating to the administration of justice, legal services, the work of the Attorney General and constitutional issues. It may also hold joint sittings with other Committees for deliberative purposes or to take evidence.

The Committee shall have –
a) a Chairman elected by Tynwald,
b) two other Members.

Members of Tynwald shall not be eligible for membership of the Committee, if, for the time being, they hold any of the following offices: President of Tynwald, member of the Council of Ministers, Attorney General, member of the Treasury Department referred to in section 1(2)(b) of the Government Departments Act 1987.

The Committee shall be authorised to require the attendance of Ministers for the purpose of assisting the Committee.

Should the need arise in relation to a particular matter, such as a conflict of interest, Tynwald may elect an alternate member for the purpose and duration of the Committee's consideration of that matter. A conflicted member so replaced shall continue to serve as a member of the Committee for all other purposes.