Navigate Up

Tynwald Day 2013 - Ceremony & Guests

The traditional Tynwald Day ceremony begins officially around 09.45 when the participants in the parade assemble at St John's School ready to march up to line the processional way. The Lieutenant Governor arrives just after 10.30 and receives the Royal Salute and inspects the Guard of Honour before laying a wreath on the War Memorial. Open the Order of Proceedings for further details.

The service in St John's Chapel begins at 11.00 and the Order of Service can be found here.

Following the service the outdoor part of the ceremony begins with processions to Tynwald Hill. During the ceremony on the Hill the Acts are promulgated, Coroners are sworn in and there is an opportunity to present Petitions for Redress. Those assembled then process back to the church for sittings of Tynwald, during which the Acts are captioned, and the House of Keys. Full details of the ceremony on Tynwald Hill and the sittings in the Chapel may be found here.

Invited Guests

Each year a number of official guests are invited to share in the celebration of our National Day. In 2013 we will welcome the following:

Dr Alasdair Allan MSP - Member of the Scottish Parliament for Na h-Eileanan an lar (Western Isles) and Minister for Learning, Science and Scotland’s Languages

Rosemary Butler AM - Member of the Welsh Asembly for Newport West and Presiding Officer

The Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint - Minister of State for Trade and Investment

Rear Admiral Chris Hockley MA MSc CEng CMarEng FI-MarEst FCMI - Flag Officer Regional Forces/Flag Officer Reserves

Peter Horrell - Chief Executive of Barclays Wealth and Investment Management Division

Senator Ian Le Marquand - Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for Home Affairs, States of Jersey

Sir David Lewis KStJ, DL - Isle of Man Financial Supervison Commissioner, Alderman of City of London and Former Lord Mayor of London

Joe McHugh TD - Member of Dáil Eireann (House of Representatives - Houses of the Oireachtas) for Donegal North East and Co-Chair of the British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly

John Scott MSP - Member of the Scottish Parliament for Ayr and Deputy Presiding Officer

Jim Wells MLA - Member of the Northern Ireland Assembly for South Down and Deputy Chair of the Committee for Health, Social Services and Public Safety