Navigate Up

Legislative Council Members Sworn In

​Newly elected members of the Legislative Council Paul Craine and Diane Kelsey were sworn in yesterday at a ceremony held in the Legislative Council chamber in Douglas. The swearing in was conducted by the First Deemster and Clerk of Rolls assisted by the Chief Registrar. The new Members took the Oath of Allegiance and signed the Liber Juramentorum and the Members’ Code of Conduct. They were each presented with their Warrant of Certification of Election and a copy of the Legislative Council Standing Orders by the Acting President, Bill Henderson MLC.

Mrs Diane Kelsey MLC swearing in.jpg

There were seven candidates for the two seats which became vacant when Kate Lord-Brennan and Jane Poole-Wilson were elected to the House of Keys in the recent General Election. Mr Craine and Mrs Kelsey received 16 and 13 votes respectively, a majority of the number of the House of Keys Members present and voting, at the election which took place in the House of Keys on 23rd November 2021.

The Hansard of the sitting is available online or listen again​ to the sitting here.

For further information contact: 
Joann Corkish 
Deputy Clerk of Tynwald
Legislative Buildings
Tel: (01624) 685500
Email: ​
Published - 01/12/2021