Navigate Up

Footpaths, Bridleways and Green Lanes Call for evidence

At the November 2021 sitting of Tynwald, a Select Committee was formed to consider, consult on and report on the petition of David Buttery presented at St John’s on 5th July 2021.  The petition can be read here.  

The Committee would like to invite written submissions from anyone who wishes to comment on this matter.  The Committee is particularly interested in views on:

•The efficiency and effectiveness of the current model for maintaining footpaths and other pathways open to the public

•The legal position on ownership of and responsibility for maintaining footpaths and other pathways

•How the current model for maintaining footpaths and other pathways interacts with and supports Government policies on tourism, agriculture, and the environment

Submissions should be sent to the address below by noon on Wednesday 22nd December 2021.  Email is preferred but hard copy is equally acceptable.  

Please be aware that the Committee may choose to make public any information it receives. Personal contact details are routinely redacted in advance of such publication. If there is any other information in your submission that you do not wish the Committee to publish, or that you believe the Committee should not publish, please explain this in your submission. 

The Members elected to the Committee are Daphne Caine MHK, Bill Henderson MLC, and Sarah Maltby MHK.  The Committee has elected Mrs Maltby as its Chair.  

The progress of the Committee’s inquiry ​can be followed via the Tynwald website.  

For further information contact: 
Francisca Gale
Clerk to the Committee 
Legislative Buildings, Douglas, IM1 3PW
Tel: (01624) 685500

Published - 30/11/2021