Navigate Up

Douglas Promenade Scheme Committee to hear evidence

The Environment and Infrastructure Policy Review Committee will take oral evidence on Friday 5th June 2020 on the topic of the Douglas Promenade Scheme.  The focus of the session will be on the recently announced changes to the scope and timetable of the refurbishment project, in particular the delay to laying the tram tracks on Loch Promenade.

The Committee will hear evidence from the following witnesses at the times stated below:

9am: Mr Alistair Burroughs, Chairman of Burroughs and Burroughs Stewart Associates

10am: Mr Bill Henderson MLC, Member of the Treasury, and Mr David Catlow, Director of Financial Governance

10.30am: Mr Tadhg O’Mahony, Director of Auldyn Construction Ltd, and Mr Clive Callister, Managing Director of Auldyn Construction Ltd and Colas (IOM) Ltd

11am: Hon Laurence Skelly MHK, Minister for Enterprise; Mr Mark Lewin, CEO of the Department for Enterprise; Mr Andrew Stewart, Head of Policy and Strategy; and Mr Tim Cowsill, Head of Business Isle of Man

12 noon: Hon Tim Baker MHK, Minister for Infrastructure*; Mr Nick Black, CEO of the Department of Infrastructure; and Mr Jeff Robinson, Director of Highway Services

The Legislative Buildings remain closed to the public. The evidence will be able to be heard via the livestream on the Tynwald website here. The recording will also be available after the session under the “Listen Again” section of the website here and a Hansard transcription will be published in due course.

The Members elected to the Environment and Infrastructure Policy Review Committee are Rob Callister MHK (Chair), Clare Barber MHK, and Chris Robertshaw MHK.  Mr Callister has recused himself from this inquiry because he is a member of the Department for Enterprise, one of the Departments under scrutiny.  The Committee has elected Mrs Barber as its Chair for this inquiry.  In October 2019, Tynwald elected Marlene Maska MLC, Martyn Perkins MHK, and Jane Poole-Wilson MLC to the Committee as alternate Members for the purposes of this inquiry.

The progress of the Committee’s inquiry can be followed via the Tynwald website.

*Mr Baker was appointed as Minister for Infrastructure on 3rd June 2020, replacing Mr Harmer. 
For further information contact:
Francisca Gale
Clerk to the Committee
Legislative Buildings, Douglas, IM1 3PW
Tel: (01624) 685500
Published - 02/06/2020