Navigate Up

Legislative Council Election 2021

Two vacancies have arisen on the Legislative Council as a result of as a result of Ms Kate Lord-Brennan and Mrs Poole-Wilson resigning their seats on that Branch. Their resignations took effect when they were elected to the House of Keys on 23rd September 2021. The vacancies are for a term ending on 28th February 2023.
Further information about the vacancy and the election process can be found here​.
Nominations received with respect to these vacancies will be shown below. 

Mr Bill Shimmins
Date nomination received: 18th October 2021
Nominated by: Mrs Daphne Caine MHK
Seconder: Mrs Claire Christian MHK
Supporters: Hon Kate Lord-Brennan MHK and Hon Jane Poole-Wilson MHK
Nomination Papers​

Mr Paul Craine
Date nomination received: 19th October 2021
Nominated by: Mr Chris Thomas MHK
Seconder: Hon David Ashford MBE MHK
Supporters: Mrs Ann Corlett MHK, Mr Tim Glover MHK, Mr Stu Peters MHK, Mr Andrew Smith MHK
Nomination Papers

Mrs Corelli Bentham
Date nomination received: 20th October 2021
Nominated by: Hon Alex Allinson MHK
Seconder: Dr Michelle Haywood MHK
Supporters: Hon Julie Edge MHK, Mrs Sarah Maltby MHK, Mr John Wannenburgh MHK
Nomination Papers

Mrs Diane Kelsey
Date nomination received: 21st October 2021
Nominated by: Mr Tim Glover MHK
Seconder: Mrs Ann Corlett MHK
Supporters: Hon Clare Barber MHK and Mr Tim Johnston MHK
Nomination Papers

The election will be the first item of business at the sitting of the House of Keys at 10.00 on Tuesday, 23rd November 2021. Members of the public will be welcome to attend. Sittings can also be heard via the 'Live and Listen Again' audio webcast service on the Tynwald website.